Saying Goodbye to 7 Retiring Faculty

Tuesday, May 31, 2016

The Carlson School is saying goodbye to seven retiring faculty members this year, each leaving an indelible mark on the school.

Stuart Albert

Associate Professor Stuart Albert is an expert on the topic of timing. Some of his major publications include The Timing of Dissent and Towards a Theory of Timing: An Archival Study of Timing Decisions in the Persian Gulf War. His most recent book is When: The Art of Perfect Timing, based on a 20-year investigation into more than 2,000 timing issues and errors.


John Boyd

Professor and Banking Industry of Minnesota Chair John Boyd has been a consultant to the United States Treasury, Council of Economic Advisers, Federal Home Loan Banks, World Bank, International Monetary Fund, Federal Reserve System, various banking and trade associations, and has testified before the United States Congress.

His primary research interests include banking, financial intermediation, intermediation and development, and the economics of gun ownership.


Edward Joyce

Professor Edward Joyce served for a time as associate dean of the MBA Program. During his leadership, new curricula were implemented in both the Full-Time and Part-Time programs, and the school’s Enterprise programs were restructured to increase both their centrality in the curriculum and their academic content.


Joan Meyers-Levy

Professor Joan Meyers-Levy, the holder of the Margaret J. Holden and Dorothy A. Werlich Endowed Professorship, is an expert in a variety of consumer behavior issues related to visual and verbal communication, memory, information processing, and gender, as well as individual differences.

Her work has been published in the Journal of Consumer Research, Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Marketing, Journal of Applied Psychology, Journal of Consumer Psychology, and Psychology and Marketing, as well as in several books.


Timothy Nantell

Professor Timothy Nantell has served in a variety of positions at the school, including acting dean, associate dean of faculty, chair of the Finance Department, and faculty director of the MBA Program. He also initiated the Carlson Funds Enterprise.


Judy Rayburn

Professor Judy Rayburn is an expert in capital markets and has been published in the Journal of Accounting Research, Contemporary Accounting Research, and the Canadian Journal of Economics. She was the American Accounting Association President in 2005-06.


Andrew Van de Ven

Professor Andrew Van de Ven, the Vernon H. Heath Chair of Organizational Innovation and Change, taught courses on the management of innovation and change, organizational behavior, and research methods. He is the author of more than 100 research papers and is the co-author of a dozen books.