The Carlson Master of Accountancy (MAcc) is a 30 credit program that full-time students can complete in two semesters. Resident tuition for a full-time student in the MAcc program for two semesters is $20,680. Non-resident tuition for two semesters is $34,120.

2017-2018 Tuition and Fees


10 – 18 credits$10,340$17,060
Per credit (1 – 9)$1,034$1,706
(two semesters)$20,680*$34,120*

*Cost assumes completion of the 30 credit program in two semesters.  Amount does not include student fees, books and course materials or other incidental costs such as meals and parking.  Rates are subject to yearly increases.

Semester Fees

Fee TypeAmount
Carlson School fee

$580 - Full-time students (9 credits or more)

$290 - Part-time students (8 credits or less)

Student Service fee$436.60 (enrolled for 6 or more credits)
Other fees

$1050.00 Student Health Benefit Plan (required for International students; domestic students may opt out if they have health insurance elsewhere)

$24.00 Transportation Fee

$75.00 Capital Enhancement Fee

$16.23 Professional Student Government Fee

$6.00 Stadium Fee

International Students

  • International Student Engagement Fee $14.00
  • International Student Admin Fee $165.00

The tuition and fees above do not include books and course materials. Tuition and fees are subject to change without notice.

Financial Aid

The Accounting department awards scholarships for MAcc students on a competitive basis. Applicants are considered for scholarships during the admissions process; there is no separate scholarship application.

In addition, the University offers grants, scholarships, education benefits, and tuition waivers based on financial need and basic eligibility criteria.  To apply for financial aid, complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). You may complete it anytime; the University will process the application after you have been admitted. The University of Minnesota FAFSA code is 003969.  The University has reciprocity agreements with the states of Wisconsin, North Dakota, South Dakota, and the province of Manitoba, Canada.