Dean Sri Zaheer

Sri Zaheer Named to JAUM Business Hall of Fame

Monday, June 4, 2018

Carlson School Dean Sri Zaheer has been honored by Junior Achievement of the Upper Midwest (JAUM) as one of its Business Hall of Fame Laureates. Zaheer is recognized for her professional accomplishments and because of the example she sets for today’s students through demonstrated integrity, respect, and excellence in business and philanthropy.

“We are honored to recognize Sri Zaheer for her excellence in business and philanthropy,” said Gina Blayney, president and CEO of JAUM. “Her achievements provide local students with inspiration and encouragement to pursue their passions and dreams.”

Others named to the hall of fame this year include Api Group, Inc. CEO and President Russ Becker, M.A. Mortenson Company Chairman David Mortenson, 2019 Minneapolis Final Four Local Organizing Committee President and CEO Kate Mortenson, Mayo Clinic President and CEO John Noseworthy, and Minnesota Vikings COO Kevin Warren.

JAUM, based in Maplewood, Minnesota, offers financial literacy, college and career readiness, and entrepreneurship education to students in grades K-12. Its programs are implemented by nearly 10,000 volunteers, mostly business professionals, who share their skills and experience to motivate and inspire students to succeed. The stories of the hall of famers become part of its curriculum to inspire local students to strive for success and encourage their entrepreneurial spirit.

Zaheer, who has been dean since 2012, holds the Elmer L. Andersen Chair in Global Corporate Social Responsibility. She serves on the boards of the Graduate Management Admission Council, Greater Twin Cities United Way, and the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis.

She and the other laureates will be honored on September 20 at the McNamara Alumni Center starting at 5:30 p.m. The evening includes a reception, dinner, awards ceremony, and presentation featuring inspirational videos highlighting the outstanding accomplishments of each laureate.

This year’s event will host 350 of the Twin Cities’ best and brightest business leaders.  Proceeds from the event will allow more than 163,500 K-12 students in Minnesota, North Dakota and western Wisconsin to experience Junior Achievement in their classrooms this school year.