Pinar Karaca-Mandic

Pinar Karaca-Mandic receives Distinguished McKnight University Professorship

Tuesday, March 14, 2023

For her commitment to improving value and equity in health, Carlson School Professor Pinar Karaca-Mandic is receiving a University of Minnesota Distinguished McKnight University Professorship, which recognizes the outstanding achievements of faculty who recently earned full professor status.

Karaca-Mandic, a health economist, is the C. Arthur Williams Jr. Professor in Healthcare Risk Management and Founding Director of the Business Advancement Center for Health (BACH)
Her work contributes to better understanding factors that improve access to safe and effective medical technologies and treatments; identifies the roles of regulations and market-based models in the functioning of the health insurance markets; as well as addresses frictions and social determinants of health through innovations.

“I deeply believe that the biggest challenges we face in our health sector are rooted in the intersections of multiple disciplines,” reflected Karaca-Mandic. “This recognition highlights the necessity to take a multi-disciplinary lens for breakthroughs. I am committed to upholding this approach through my collaborative and inclusive research and teaching.”

Karaca-Mandic has an impressive publication record with more than 104 refereed journal articles, many of which appear in prestigious journals such as the Journal of American Medical Association. Also, she co-founded and co-led the award-winning COVID-19 Hospital Tracking Project, which proved critical in determining response strategies throughout the pandemic. 

“Professor Karaca-Mandic is a true asset to the Carlson School and the University,” shared Dean Sri Zaheer. “From her pursuit of research with an equitable focus to encouraging the next generation of innovators, she sets and achieves a high standard. We are honored to celebrate her and this well-deserved recognition.” 

Karaca-Mandic is one of nine professors across the University this year to receive a Distinguished McKnight University Professorship. On the Carlson School faculty, she joins Professor Kathleen Vohs, who was awarded in 2016.