3 Carlson School Student Organizations Win Tony Diggs Awards

Monday, April 17, 2017

Three Carlson School student organizations recently won Tony Diggs Excellence Awards presented by the University of Minnesota Student Unions and Activities. The groups include Compass, Design U, and Undergraduate Women in Business.

Compass was named the Rookie Student Group of the Year. This undergraduate student group is focused on advocacy and creating professional opportunities for the Carlson School’s LGBTQ+ community. This group also is for allies looking to enhance their understanding of diversity and inclusion and participate in networking opportunities. On behalf of the group, the award was accepted by Quinn McMahon and Brooklyn Eshleman.

Design U was named Outstanding Undergraduate Student Group of the Year. Design U’s chief goal is to provide students with the opportunity to engage in fast-paced, real-world design work. As a multidisciplinary student group focusing on product design, Design U aims to bring ambitious students together to create exceptional products. The Tony Diggs Award was accepted by Ryan Hedblom.

Undergraduate Women in Business (WIB) won the People’s Choice Award. WIB is dedicated to bringing women together in business-related fields through networking, speakers, volunteering, and social events. WIB helps develop skills to succeed in the business world and facilitates personal and professional growth. The award was accepted by Lauren Nessler, Natalie Coon, Kelly Theis, and Alanna Pundsack.

The Tony Diggs Excellence Awards, named in honor of a former director of the Student Activities Office, are intended to recognize student group achievements during one calendar year. Award recipients receive recognition on behalf of Student Unions and Activities as well as exciting award packages.