The 15 inductees were selected in celebration of the program's 35th anniversary.

The Master of Business Taxation (MBT) Program celebrates its 35th anniversary this year, and will mark the occasion by naming 15 inductees to the MBT Hall of Fame. These inductees contributed tremendously to the program's success through teaching, service on boards and committees, and representing the school in the professional tax community.

Director Paul Gutterman notes the University of Minnesota's MBT program has become one of the most prestigious tax programs in the country due to significant contributions of many.

"We are very fortunate to be in a community with so many corporations and firms doing sophisticated tax work that recognizes the necessity of graduate tax education and is willing to support its vibrancy," says Gutterman.

Meet the Winners
Jo Ann Ash was head administrator of the MBT Program from 1990 until her retirement in 2011.

Mark Bakko is a tax partner at Baker Tillyand a former adjunct instructor in the MBT Program. He is a 1985 graduate of the program.

Dale Busacker is Director of the State and Local Tax group at the Minneapolis office Grant Thornton. He serves on the board of advisors for the MBT Program and has been an adjunct instructor for more than 20 years.

Gary Carter was a full-time instructor in the MBT Program for more than 20 years until he retired in 2010. He currently owns his own accounting practice in Edina.

Grover Cleveland was a full-time instructor in the MBT Program during its initial 14 years.

Fred Jacobs was founder of the MBT program and served as director for 29 years until he retired in 2007. He currently serves on the board of advisors for the MBT Program.

Virginia Harn is a tax partner with CliftonLarsonAllen and is a MBT adjunct instructor. She is a 1994 graduate of the program.

Craig Miller recently retired after 37 years working for the IRS. For the past 31 years, he served as an appeals team case leader. Craig currently teaches property transactions and tax negotiations in the program. He is a 1981 graduate of the program.

Dennis Nelson was a tax partner at KPMG specializing in the financial service industry. He is a 1981 graduate of the program and taught as an adjunct instructor for nearly 10 years.

Laura Newinski is national managing partner for KPMG LLP's tax practice where she oversees a team of almost 5,500 partners and professionals across all tax disciplines. Laura is a 1994 graduate of the MBT Program.

Jay Nibbe is chairman of the global accounts committee at Ernst & Young, and is based in London. He is also deputy managing partner at EY. Jay is a 1989 graduate of the MBT program and has taught in the program as an adjunct instructor.

Charles Osborne is a 1983 graduate of the MBT Program. He began his career as a tax specialist in public accounting and went on to hold positions as CFO at Deluxe Corporation and Fair Isaac Corporation, president and COO at Graco, interim CEO at Fair Isaac Corporation, and interim CFO of the University of Minnesota Foundation.

Maureen Pechacek is a national tax partner at PWC specializing in state and local taxation. She is a 1990 graduate of the MBT Program as well as a former adjunct instructor.

Jack Reif was one of the program's first graduates in 1979. After becoming a tax partner with Deloitte he joined Dayton-Hudson corporation in 1984, and eventually became tax director and assistant treasurer. He retired in 2010. Jack also served as an adjunct instructor in the MBT Program for 10 years and is currently on its board of advisors.

Sen. Ann Rest serves as the chair of the Tax Reform Division of the Minnesota Senate Tax Committee. She was first elected to the Minnesota House of Representatives in 1984 where she chaired the House Tax Committee. She has been a member of the Minnesota Senate since 2001 and has also served at the Assistant Majority Leader. She is a 1982 graduate of the MBT Program.

The inductees will be recognized at a luncheon on the University of Minnesota campus on September 24.