Five Carlson School faculty members have been named as endowed chairs, effective July 1, 2015.  

Theresa GlombWork and Organizations Professor Theresa Glomb is appointed to The Toro Company-David M. Lilly Chair in Human Resources, established on May 27 by the Toro Company in honor of former Dean of the Carlson School and CEO of the Toro Company, David M. Lilly. This year, Glomb will be serving as the academic director of the Leadership Development Program in the Full-Time MBA Program. She has conducted research and published in the areas of emotions and mood in organizations, job attitudes and behaviors, emotional labor, workplace victimization, and workplace health and well-being.

Pervin ShroffAccounting Professor Pervin Shroff is the first holder of the Frederick H. Grose Chair in Accounting. Her research focuses on the role of accounting information in capital markets with particular emphasis on accounting-based valuation and estimation of risk. Shroff teaches financial accounting, and has served as the academic director of the Carlson Growth Fund and as a thesis advisor for many accounting Ph.D. students.

Marketing Professor Vladas Griskevicius is the first holder of one of two endowed chairs supported by a $4 million gift from the Carlson Family Foundation. He is chair of the Marketing Department and serves as associate editor of the Journal of Marketing Research. Griskevicius has extensive background in psychology and is expert in social influence and persuasion, green marketing, and the evolutionary roots of modern consumer behavior.

Information and Decision Sciences Professor Gedas Adomavicius will be appointed the Carolyn I. Anderson Chair in Business Education Excellence. He serves as the academic director of the Master of Science in Business Analytics (MSBA) program and faculty director of the MSBA experiential learning lab. His research interests revolve around computational techniques for aiding decision-making in information-intensive environments and include personalization technologies, knowledge discovery and data mining, and electronic market mechanisms. 

Information and Decision Sciences Professor Ravi Bapna will hold the Curtis L. Carlson Chair in Business Analytics and Information Systems. He is the founding academic co-director of University of Minnesota's Social Media and Business Analytics Collaborative (SOBACO), an interdisciplinary research center. Bapna's research contributions have been in the area of economics of information systems, social media, big-data analytics, peer influence, monetization and design of Freemium communities, human capital issues in the IT services industry, and online auctions.

"The stated purpose of endowed chairs at the University of Minnesota is to enhance faculty contributions to teaching, research and public service. In that spirit, each of these five professors has demonstrated strengths and extraordinary commitments on all three fronts.  It is faculty such as Gedas, Ravi, Theresa, Vlad, and Pervin who help reinforce the school’s strong reputation among faculty circles while attracting the confidence and support of outside individuals and organizations," says Carlson School Dean Sri Zaheer.